Thursday, October 20, 2016

READy to Talk: Big News for me!

     So 2016 hasn't been the best. Like most of what's happened has been racist filled and problematic and even more. But for me personally, there have been some pretty good moments too.... I finally got on a plane, I went to BEA for the first time, I went to TLA and volunteered, got married, and finally got down to the WIRE for graduation. (One more semester! YASSSS!) But then the biggest thing happened on Monday and I have to say, I couldn't be more proud of me! 


     If you know me, you know I've been waiting on this for a long time. I've put in at least 13 applications to two different counties and one separate Public Library system. I'd always get the interviews because they were intrigued by my blog, but nothing ever panned out from it. But this time, I must have looked desperate because they only thought about it for a couple days and Monday I got the call that said yes! I'm in the middle of the pre-hire paperwork to become a library technician!!!! I know it's not a children's librarian, but it's a start and a huge, giant leap from Olive Garden where I currently work. I'm super excited to start spreading my love of literacy at the library. 
     Thank you to everyone that has been there and told me to keep praying and to keep putting my applications in. I almost stopped and went another route and became manager of Olive Garden. My husband told me not to give up and so many of you did too. I can't say enough how much I thank you all for telling me to keep my head up. I needed the motivation and I am so glad to have you all as my support system.
     That's all for today! I just wanted to thank you all for believing in me! You all know who you are! 

Peace, Love, and Books,
-Nikki S. 

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

WoW: Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

This bookish meme tells the blogosphere what we're waiting patiently (and sometimes not so patiently) for! It's hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

Ramona Blue

     For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson comes this sharp and thought-provoking novel about modern love, family, and the labels that we just can’t seem to escape—from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ and Side Effects May Vary.
     Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever. Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. One of only two out lesbians in her small town and standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the responsible adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, her responsibilities weigh more heavily than ever.
     The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool. 
     As Ramona falls more in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift as well, and she must decide if knowing who she is is more important than figuring out who she might become.

Published By: Balzer + Bray
Expected Publication: May 9, 2017

Why I'm Waiting: When I heard Murphy was doing a companion to Dumplin, I was ECSTATIC! I really enjoyed reading it and I can only imagine who else's story she wanted to tell from that book. So looking at this one, I can honestly say I will love this book too. I do have a small concern, though... I really hope that Ramona finds out she's bisexual and is portrayed with both a girlfriend and a boyfriend. I hope this isn't all about the one person who turns her hetro...... 

What are you waiting on this week?
Will you be waiting on this with me?

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Character Names I'd Name a Pet

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the BookishEach week we will post a new Top Ten list. Everyone is welcome to join.   

This week's topic is:
Top 10 Character Names I'd Name a Pet

1. Princess in Black: From the super cute picture book The Princess in Black by Shannon Hale. I see a black cat named this for some reason lol 

2. Dinah: From Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes. Another cat I see. 

3. Magnus Chase: From the Magnus Chase series by Rick Riordan. Being honest, I'd call a dog that and it's obvious I'd call him that because I'm sure he'd like to "chase" things lmao 

4. Maguire: From Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes. I always wanted a tabby cat, and I'd call it "Tabby Maguire" lolol I know that's stupid, but I think it's cute. 

5. Midnight: From Wink, Poppy, Midnight by 
6. Skylar: From I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios. I can see myself naming the parrot I always wanted this lol 

7. Arcadia: From The Devil You Know by Trish Doller. I don't really have a reason for this one.... I just really like the name. 

8. Katniss: From The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I'd obviously name a cat this. 

9. Honor: From In Honor by Jessi Kirby. No other reason besides I just really like it. 

10. Kaz: Obviously from the Six of Crows series by Leigh Bardugo. I would name a really sneaky cat this. 

If nothing else, this week's topic showed me I am TERRIBLE with puns hahahaha 

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Stacking the Shelves #193 & the Weekly Wrap-Up!

This bookish meme tells the blogosphere what all we borrowed, bought, and received for review. It's hosted over at Tynga's Reviews.

Received from the publisher:

The Best Possible Answer

From Books for Trade:
Damage Done

Thank you to Amanda who was getting rid of her ARC! If you know me, you know how much I love this book so when she was getting rid of this, I knew I needed it! 

For Class:
The HelpThe Lover's Dictionary

Weekly Wrap-Up

Tuesday 10/11/16: Top 10 Books I Read Because of Someone Else! 
Wednesday 10/12/16: Waiting on Wednesday: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Thursday 10/13/2016: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
Friday 10/14/16: Follow Friday: Favorite Most Hated Characters!
Saturday 10/15/16: Class Act: Module 7- Verse

Me on Instagram @take_me_awayyy:

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Class Act: Module 6- Books Told in Verse!

As y'all know, I'm a Library Science student at University of North Texas. This semester I have the pleasure of taking an AWESOME class called Seminar and Trends in YA! This semester the focus is YA books!  One of the things we have to do is read some books from a list my Prof has provided us and then make up a blog and post reviews or features of what we have read! 

Books Told in Verse! 

The Lover's Dictionary

The Lover's Dictionary by David Levithan
Published by: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux 
Book Summary:     
  basis, n.

There has to be a moment at the beginning when you wonder whether you're in love with the person or in love with the feeling of love itself.

If the moment doesn't pass, that's it―you're done. And if the moment does pass, it never goes that far. It stands in the distance, ready for whenever you want it back. Sometimes it's even there when you thought you were searching for something else, like an escape route, or your lover's face.

     How does one talk about love? Do we even have the right words to describe something that can be both utterly mundane and completely transcendent, pulling us out of our everyday lives and making us feel a part of something greater than ourselves? Taking a unique approach to this problem, the nameless narrator of David Levithan's The Lover's Dictionary has constructed the story of his relationship as a dictionary. Through these short entries, he provides an intimate window into the great events and quotidian trifles of being within a couple, giving us an indelible and deeply moving portrait of love in our time.

     I've actually never been a huge fan of verse novels because I've never been good at poetry. I tried my hand at it one time in second grade and people laughed at it, so I vowed to never do it again. I almost broke that for my module this week, but I decided on giving my favorite "definition" from this book!

kerfuffle, n.

From now on, you re only allowed one drink at any of my office parties. One. Preferably a beer.”

     This was my favorite definition from the book. I love the way this book was written. It gives a definition of the word, but it does it pertaining to the couple in this book. It's not a super sweet story, but one that tells a realistic story.

Have you read this before?
What did you think of the way it was told?