Thursday, July 25, 2013

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

e-Book, 322 pages
 Release Date: May 8, 2012
Published by: Simon and Schuster's Children's Publishing
Stand-alone
Source: Library
For fans of Chicklit, Contemporary Romance, YA, Sparkly Covers, Summer Lovin, Realistic Fiction, Tearjerkers

     From the Flying Start author of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, a powerful novel about hope in the face of heartbreak.
Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.
Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.
As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.
*MY THOUGHTS*
     This story brought back so many memories. The reason being: its the most raw, most realistic, most fact based story I've ever read. For this to be my first book by Morgan Matson, I am very pleased with it. It surely will not be my last. 
     My aunt just passed away from breast cancer and I found out about 3 months ago that my grandmother has Stage IV Ovarian cancer, so this book really hit home for me. As I read it I noticed all the things that I noticed while watching my grandmother (who is now in the care of hospice) and my aunt. It really felt like Matson was going on personal experience because everything was there. Even the smallest of details. This is actually what I liked the most. (Even though it made me cry like non stop!) I really feel like this was the first "real" realistic fiction book I've ever read. 
     I also really liked the characters. Although Taylor had her faults, someone helped her understand and come to terms with them. I also liked Henry. (I mean he works in a bakery! What's not to like?!) It was obvious that he genuinely loved Taylor and would do anything for her. With Lucy, I really liked her, but I really thought their little feud was stupid. At 17, none of that should've been as important to them as it was. As far as all the supporting characters, Davey was my favorite. I thought he was adorable. 
     Lastly, I loved that the writing style was so easy to read. For such a tough subject, Matson's writing style made it easy to read and easy to understand. She will bring out "your best and your worst" emotions at the same time and leave you wanting more. Honestly, last night when I finished I had already thought of when I would take the time to re-read this. 
     Matson is an amazing author and I'm upset that I waited until now to read something by her. I know that I've absolutely loved something when I can relate it to my own personal experiences as well as completely getting "taken away" with the author's words and that's exactly what this one did for me. 


1 comment:

  1. I'm sorry to hear about the cancer in your family and the recent loss :(

    I'm glad you enjoyed this book. I've had it on my shelf since last year and really mean to read it this summer.

    ReplyDelete