Monday, May 4, 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


ARC, 416  pages
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Published by: Bloomsbury 
A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1
Source: NetGalley (A copy of this book was sent to me via NetGalley and the publisher. This in no way shaped my opinion of this book. All thoughts of it written under "My Thoughts" are my own.)
For fans of: Action, Romance, Sparkly Covers, Favorites, DEAR, Fae, New Adult, Fantasy

     A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
     When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
     As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
     Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
 

*MY THOUGHTS*

     This book y'all. THIS. BOOK. This is the first time I've ever been speechless about a book I loved. I'm normally overflowing with words and gushing about everything I liked about it and no one can make me shut up. But y'all, THIS BOOK. I'm not even sure what I liked most. I just know I liked it ALL. 
"Your skills with females have definitely become rusty in the recent decades.'"
pg.  59 (ARC)
     Feyre is the sole provider in her house and one day as she's hunting she meets a wolf in the wood. But its not any old wolf as she soon learns. Another beast like creature comes to demand that she pays in some way for the wolf's life. She then meets Tamlin a faerie creature who took over their land in the past. Things get bad before they get better, but then things just turn down right worse. This book is full of twists, turns, gut puncheons, and everything else that can ruin your emotions. 
"You don't hold on  to power by being everyone's friend.'"
pg. 101 (ARC)
     One of the things I liked most about this book was the way it was written. I've only read one other book by Sarah J. Maas and it was ok. This one blew that one right out of the water. From the fight scenes, to the love scenes, everything was explained in fine detail. It was as if I were watching a movie instead of a book. 
"Magic- everything was magic and it broke my heart.'"
pg. 210 (ARC)
     Because her writing was so amazing, it made the world building the same way. Maas created a world I was 100% surprised that I loved. As someone who isn't a fan of fae, I went in to this one trying to block out that fact, In the end, I found myself super interested in them and their highly dangerous world. Tamlin's house has definitely joined my list of fictional places to  visit! There were other places in this story I wasn't too fond of, but still I'd like to visit there if I could!
"Who wants someone around who's so covered in thorns?'"
pg. 245 (ARC)
     When I heard it was about fae, I was a little put off by it, but what grabbed my attention was the synopsis. It mentions that its a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I am a SUCKER for all things Beauty and the Beast so I will give anything that even might be a re-etelling a shot. I feared this one would only have similarities, but everything was there and it made it even more enjoyable. Now I'm stuck hoping book two has another fairy tale element, but whether it does or doesn't after that super stressing ending, I'm going to read it. 
"I'd never be able to capture that [...] no matter how many times I tried no matter how many colors I used.'"
pg. 247 (ARC)
     As for the romance, Sarah J Maas certainly can write it! I loved Tamlin from the start! And there is one scene where I had to put the book down afterwards and go get some ice water because my face started burning up after reading it. hahaha I'm so glad I read that part at home. There was a time when I feared there would be a budding love triangle and that got me a little worried, but then I saw why this happened and it made so much more sense! 
"Magic's a specific kind of thing- it like rules...'"
pg. 288 (ARC)
     Everything about this book was so good! The beginning start with a bang, the middle is filled with adventure and romance, and the ending will STRESS YOU OUT. But putting all that together made this book a definite winner for me. Sarah J. Maas is a wonderful story teller and I can't wait to read EVERYTHING she's ever written!
Overall, I give this


3 comments:

  1. Ahh, I am so excited to read this! Haven't heard one bad review about this! Great Review.
    Happy Reading x

    ReplyDelete
  2. this book is everywhere. I almost bought it friday and decided to get another one instead. I need this one,. Everyone seems to love it. two things i love beauty an the beast retellings and fae. i need this book. glad you loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm so glad you loved this one. I'm so excited to start it tomorrow. I'm glad you loved the world. I'm not a huge fan of fae stories either but lately I've been liking them a lot more. Great review!
    Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally

    P.S. The Throne of Glass series gets much better. If you want to give it a try again start with The Assassins Blade. The novellas do a better job of building the world and creating the characters.

    ReplyDelete