Saturday, February 6, 2016

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Hardcover, 256 pages
Release Date: January 26, 2016
Published by: Delacorte Press
Stand-alone
Source: Own
For fans of: Realistic Fiction, Contemporary, YA, Greek mythology


     A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.
     People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
     Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.
     A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?
     This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

*MY THOUGHTS*

     I almost didn't write a review for this one. It just didn't seem fair since I only read like one fourth of it, but I still wanted to say just why exactly it didn't work for me. 
     I couldn't quite finish this because I'm character driven. I like strong characters that have a definite purpose and a great attitude. These characters had none of that. They were naive and I just didn't care about them after awhile. Granted they may have changed after the book got really moving, but at the same time I felt that I knew most of the story anyways.
     If you read the synopsis, almost the entire story is written there. Add on to the fact that the book is short, I flipped to the end and literally knew the entire story. I think I would've been more interested if I wasn't told the story on the back flap. 
     Although I was excited about this story, it turns out that it wasn't for me. I thought it was an amazing concept (I LOVE mythology!) but it was just executed poorly. But as always, just because I didn't care for it, doesn't mean you won't! 
Overall, I give this


0 comments:

Post a Comment