Saturday, June 4, 2016

The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

ARC, 358 pages
Release Date: June 7, 2016
Published by: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
The Fixer, #2
Source: TLA
For fans of: Mysteries, Thrillers, Contemporary, Romance, Suspense, YA


     Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.
     For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate's campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.
     Meanwhile, Tess's guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can--and cannot--be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she's about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.
     Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

*MY THOUGHTS*

     So this book was everything I hoped it would be and more. I had heard it was only set to be a duology and I've been praying that's not the case. This series needs more. This book was too good for it to just end there. And with the bomb that Barnes dropped? There HAS to be more. 
"That wasn't just a bombshell. That was nuclear."
pg. 88 (ARC)
     The synopsis makes readers think this is all about a student election and the things that Tess encounters at school along the way. I'm here to tell you it's about way more than that. Its about things you'd never see coming. So many secrets, lies, and more are sprung up during this exciting sequel.
"If it came down to the rest of the world or you, I would pick you every single time."
pg. 132 (ARC)
     If I didn't say so before, Barnes is a freaking genius. She's the only thriller writer so far who has stumped me or given me something I didn't see coming more than once. And that's saying something because I can usually call them ALL. Barnes is a great writer who knows how to bring the twists and turns. And because of this series alone I will read any thriller she puts out!
"Don't handle me with kid gloves..."
pg. 158 (ARC)
     It was really great to be with this cast of characters again as well! I loved seeing how they were more developed and all the new things we found out about them. Especially the bomb that was dropped at the end. I mean I saw it coming from the way the storyline was going, but for the confirmation, it kind of sent chills down my spine. 
"For better or worse, I had to try."
pg. 238 (ARC)
     This book was so good and reminded me why I love thrillers. While reading my heart was racing and I had to put the book down to slow down for fear of a heart attack. This book will drive you crazy, but in the best way possible. I'm already waiting on the next book and I'm not even sure there will be one yet! lol 
Overall, I give this


3 comments:

  1. This series sound amazing, how have I not heard of it ? After reading Lamar Giles Fake ID I've been searching for more YA mystery/thrillers !

    ReplyDelete
  2. Quick question, do you think the books need to be read in order ?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes they definitely need to be read in order! The first one is called The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. It's so good! And this one will definitely speed up your heart-rate!

      Also, I LOVE thrillers and YA is my favorite. I have a bunch to rec if you like. Hit me up on Twitter and I'll give you a list lol

      Delete