Monday, February 23, 2015

Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

ARC, 368 pages
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Published by: HarperTeen
Uninvited, #2
Source: ATWAT
For fans of: Romance, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Series Enders

     Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Confessions of a Murder Suspect.
     Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.
     Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she'll be ruled by the kill gene or if she'll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn't even know if she can trust herself.

*MY THOUGHTS*

     When I read Uninvited I was over the moon about the action and adventure in the book. It was what made me want to continue the series. I needed to see how things happened while they were on the run because the cliff hanger that the last one ended on was brutal.
"One thing about being stuck in an eight hundred square foot space is that there is nowhere to hide. Not from one another. Not from ghosts."
pg. 12 (ARC)
     After escaping the HTS camp, Davy and friends are on the run from the government and their plan is still to go into Mexico. But of course, nothing EVER goes as planned. As one thing after another begins to happen, things begin to spiral out of control and Davy realizes that nothing is ever really planned. 
"There are worse things than beasts waiting in the dark. Things like me."
pg. 29
     Ok, I'm just going to be honest. I did not like this anywhere near as much as I liked the other one. And I say that because I was expecting to see more action and more adventure. Especially with the way they were on the run and trying to get away from the government. I thought this series ender would be filled with suspense and just awesome... But instead it read more like a love story.. And although the romance was ok, I was not impressed. I was mainly bored through out the story because I was waiting on something to happen. And when it did, it was too far and too few between long boring spaces. With what the book was about I wanted it to be more than just "meh." It was so different but this one made it like any other YA novel. 
"No one asks. They do. They take. And no one apologizes."
pg. 100
     The romance in it was just meh too. I won't say too much about it because it could turn into a spoiler. "He" was a really good dude and he was a protector and everything else good you could think of. But it seemed like everything was revolved around the romance and I just didn't care after awhile. Sometimes she wanted him and sometimes she didn't. I wanted more action, suspense, BLOOD SHED. Maybe I was looking too much into it, but I just didn't want this book so romanticized and melodramatic. 
"Fear and killing- anger and killing for that matter- don't necessarily go hand in hand."
pg. 159
     What made the difference that whenever things did happen, they REALLY happened. There were times when I was all excited and thinking that the story would finally pick up, but it never really did.  
Overall, I give this 

3 comments:

  1. Oh bummer! I enjoyed Uninvited too and am so looking forward to this one! Didn't think it wouldn't live up to expectations! That's a shame. Still look forward to reading it, hoping I can remember all what went on from before as I read, tends to happen that way, because I really can't recall many details. The burden of reading too much! LOL!

    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am a little sad to hear this. i enjoyed the first one but didn't love it. hearing that this one is not as good from you and a few other reviewers, it makes me nervous to go on with the series. sad tooo. i loved her other series.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nooo! Not the dreaded sophmore slump! :( I'm sorry you didn't enjoy this as much as you had enjoyed Uninvited.

    ReplyDelete